Addicted to dub

May 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm Leave a comment

So we all know that I’ve been playing the bass a whole lot lately. I can now play 5 Pixies songs! Today i figured out the bass line to “Daddy Cool” (one of the awesomely cheesiest disco songs ever) and for some reason have been drawn to dub (you know, reggae but mostly just the bass parts). I’ve been practicing dub bass lines and I’m sure I’m driving my landlady crazy, but she started vaccuuming at 7:30 this morning (it’s a HOLIDAY! WTF?) so maybe we’re even. Besides, I left my amps at Davey’s house and thus have been playing the bass through the ancient boom box that I got it for my 13th birthday. It’s hooked up to some stereo speakers– it has speaker inputs and an auxiliary jack– pretty snazzy for a cheap ass Radio Shack box! It even has equalizers so you can mix between tape decks (which are both now broken, though so I can’t play any of my Weird Al tapes) I love technology from the 80s!

So anyway– reggae. I have always avoided reggae because all I ever heard was the happy hippy dippy crap that people in Ithaca were always into. Sure Bob Marley is awesome, but if I see another ONE LOVE bumpersticker on a Ford Explorer, I think I will go postal on its driver’s fake-o hippie ass.  Dub basslines are THE SHIZZLE! I’m so addicted!

Entry filed under: listening, playing.

Oy Vey On another note

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


