6 months to create, 20 seconds to destroy…

June 10, 2009 at 2:57 am Leave a comment

I’ve been working on this needlepoint project for about 8 years now. It’s from the opening credit sequence from Blake’s 7 because I’m a giant dork:Blake's 7 opening credit x-stitch template
I started it 8 years ago, and put it away for a couple of years and by the time I went to finish it I had lost all the embroidery floss and couldn’t find any colors that matched. So, I started a new one over. I traced the template onto the cloth with markers which showed through because I made a few little mistakes. I figured I’d scrub off the marker with a toothbrush and some soap… but the embroidery floss of course isn’t color-fast and bled all over the place. Luckily, it really only bled into the white that I was doing in the background which I hadn’t gotten very far on. I had to rip all the white out and start again. Alas. Will this thing ever be finished? Maybe someday! My new job is much less interesting to write about than previous jobs. The potential for drama here is pretty much nil, unless you count projectile vomiting and explosive diarrhea as drama.

That was exciting. Is that really all I have to discuss today? Oh, I watched the movie Starship Troopers while Neville was sleeping today. It was pretty amazingly awful. It brought awful to new heights! It was wicked long, too… I missed about half of it since Neville was in a really cranky mood all day and required constant walking around the house (he has to be held every second while you are standing and usually moving around). Let’s see… I only smell mostly like baby barf today!

Entry filed under: 9 to 5, crafty.

My Mother The Baby & Cat Whisperer Move Over, R. Kelly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


