Move Over, R. Kelly!

June 12, 2009 at 1:42 am Leave a comment

Whenever I mention that I’m taking care of a baby boy, people always feel the need to share their experiences with changing boy diapers. Everyone has been peed on, and it’s always at the forefront of their mind when I mention taking care of my nephews or anything. Well i got to experience the joys of baby urination today and it sure was exciting! Neville was in a cranky mood all day, crying and being generally crochety. His mother mentioned that he hadn’t pooped since yesterday at about 6:00 a.m. Yes, when you take care of babies, their excretory functions become a major source of interest. So anyway, he was a grouchy little grump all day… until I went to change his diapers and he managed to hit me in the abdominal region with his power peeing. After that, he was ecstatic. Seriously. He thought it was hysterical and was happy and giggly for the rest of the day. Someone’s got to stop playing R. Kelly for him!

So yeah, my days are filled with keeping track of baby’s digestion. It sounds awful, but it beats trying to kill fungus gnats in plants any day!

Yesterday was my day off and I had an adventure… that is I got to go to not one, but TWO different RMVs! (that’s what they call the DMV in MA– the Registry of Motor Vehicles). I took care of the plants at Harvard in the morning, then rode my bike downtown to pay some parking tickets at City Hall, then rode over to the RMV in Chinatown. I knew it was too good to be true– the wait was about 5 minutes. I gave the lady my stuff and she folded all the receipts neatly, shoved them into an envelope and wrote “RECEIPTS TO KEEP” on them and handed it to me saying, “you’ll need to keep these.” Then she said she couldn’t renew my licence plates because I didn’t have an RMV-3 form proving that I have insurance. “But I have my car’s registration. I couldn’t register the car without insurance” I said, which made no difference. The insurance people gave me an RMV-3 form, but I gave it to the RMV already when I registered the car. Oy vey! So, I rode home, got in the car and went to Watertown to the insurance place, got another RMV-3 form, took it to the RMV in Watertown and waited an hour in line. Of course, for certain transactions they only take cash, so I had to run to the ATM in Target… which was out of order. Thus I ended up buying a tugboat-shaped throw rug from the dollar rack and getting cash back with the debit card. Then I discovered that the dude at the insurance office had put the wrong address on the form.

It all worked out in the end, though… my car is registered and renewed and all set until 2011!

Then I drove to Allston to meet Robin aka Lil’ Bitch at Our House for some 2-for-1 burgers. Lil’ Bitch is not drinking anymore. in fact, he now goes to gay AA. Yes, he’s not gay (we think) and I really doubt he’s a bona fide alcoholic, but he goes to gay AA meetings anyway because the people are nicer. Hey, whatever works, right? Laura and Dave from 4 Seasons and Laura’s roommate met me there also (Robin had to leave early to go do homework). We had a few drinks and it was fun… until I got to my car and discovered that I had left the lights on and now the battery was dead. So, I called Terrence and he helped me jump start it, which was no easy task since I was parked perpendicularly and had to put the car in neutral and push it around to a good spot with traffic coming. I owe him many beers!

Hopefully the car drama is over with now. Oh, I mean it will be over with hopefully next Wednesday when I get the darn thing fixed!

Entry filed under: 9 to 5, fun, today.

6 months to create, 20 seconds to destroy… Apartment Angst

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


