Nerdiness Prevails

July 11, 2009 at 4:08 am 2 comments

I am the only geek on earth who never watched Buffy The Vampire Slayer when it was on TV. I saw the movie, and it was pretty rad (PeeWee was in it!) but for some reason the TV show never really grabbed me. My former roommates made Buffy Night a weekly event and I’d eat their delicious food and then go hibernate in my room. Why? Not sure.

Anyway, I started watching it while Neville’s napping because Jack and Laura have all the DVDs. It’s pretty freaking rad! Great, like I need another tv show to get addicted to. At least this one has like 9000 seasons; Battlestar Galactica only had 4!

Wednesday was Davey’s birthday and I went out to the old workplace to give him his present (an adorable stuffed Boba Fett– I bet you never knew the bounty hunter could be so cuddly!) and stayed for drinks at The End of the World (the bar where we hang after work). One of Davey’s friends showed up, this chick named Kaeleigh. I think I spelled that correctly. She’s a gigantic sci-fi nerd and couldn’t believe I’ve never seen Farscape or Stargate. Those were two other shows that never really grabbed me, but supposedly she’s going to assault me with DVDs so my sci-fi education will be well-rounded. I commanded her to watch Doctor Who and Blake’s 7. Geeks unite!

Entry filed under: boob toob, geekery.

Old Person Moment! OK Then, Mark II

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eilonvi  |  February 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Buffy is by far the best tv show I’ve watched. Glad you discovered it and it’s still rocks!
    Firefly was good too. only one season though – have you watched? and what’s Blake’s 7 ???

    Reply
    • 2. scootronimus  |  February 28, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Yeah, Firefly was awesome too! Blake’s 7 is a cheesy 70s BBC sci-fi show that is strangely addictive. I think Firefly actually owes quite a bit to Blake’s 7.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


