RIP John Hughes…

August 12, 2009 at 4:14 am 1 comment

The man who helped create the idea that sometimes the weirdo underdog in high school actually comes out on top has died… that would be John Hughes, writer of such 80s icon movies as The Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink, Weird Science etc. Truthfully, I didn’t appreciate these movies until way later in life, as I thought of myself as way too sophisticated and cultured or something to watch this teeny-bopper crap when it came out. I was so sophisticated I could recite the entire Monty Python and the Holy Grail from memory by the time I was 14. I was so sophisticated I religiously watched Miami Vice, but I was too cool for Sixteen Candles. Uh-huh.

I actually really dug Some Kind of Wonderful— it was basically Pretty in Pink with the sexes reversed… and the right people ended up together in the end, finally! At Bard College They would show movies sometimes in the student center (i.e., old gym) and one time they showed Sixteen Candles. At hearing the news, the Students Of Color Association (or whatever it was called; there weren’t enough ethnic people at that school to have individual student groups for Black people, Asians, Latinos etc.) staged a protest because of negative Asian racial stereotypes (Long Duck Dong) and showed Sixteen Candles as an alternative. Truthfully, I don’t think anyone showed up to either one. However, by then (1993), the 80s were already a kitchy nostalgia trip, and these movies were cultural icons. And yeah, I never saw The Breakfast Club until I was like 25.

So what can I say on the matter? I must say I was seriously annoyed by the Home Alone saga cycle and I wasn’t a huge fan of his oeuvre post 1987… but it’s sad when people die I guess. I really can’t bring myself to get too worked up over celebrity death. Alas, there will never be a Beethoven’s 6th.

Entry filed under: current events, movies.

cute animal time! Dreams Come True (or something)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:10 am

    I remember seeing “Pretty In Pink” with you at the Cinema back in the day. I’m not saying you liked it, or anything. I’m pretty sure there was some discussion over the non-Ducky ending. Anyway, I remember it fondly. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


