Dreams Come True (or something)

August 14, 2009 at 2:06 am Leave a comment

It’s lame I know, but I was filling out one of those cheesy Facebook survey questionnaire things the other day because I had nothing else to do that I felt like doing… and one of the questions was “what is your dream job?” So I answered, “art director for movies.” I’ve always wanted to design movie sets, but ironically the only class I failed in design school was Art Direction. It’s always been there in the back of my head, though. I never really thought I’d ever do it because I had absolutely no idea where to even begin, and I’m sure it would require more school. No, I can’t afford more school. Even if I could, I don’t want to do anymore working full time to support myself while going to school full time, because that shit SUCKED!!!

So then I had a revelation… I could volunteer to do scenery on some student movie or something. So, I looked up on the New England Film website (there is a movie industry here since they now give tax breaks to people who film here) and found some people making a movie that needed a crew. I emailed them and I’ll meet with them on Sunday. Wow, that was easy! Now I can see if this is something I really can do! There’s no budget, so I doubt I’ll have to design sets from the ground up, I mean like constructing walls and stuff, because I don’t have any experience at that sort of thing. But, if they just need someone to sew up a tablecloth or paint a room, or even work out what goes in the room and where, I’m there! Though this will probably eat up all my free time should I get picked to do it, I’m really psyched!

Entry filed under: artsy stuff, movies.

RIP John Hughes… Obligatory bitching about the weather

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


