How ’bout them apples?

September 8, 2009 at 1:32 am Leave a comment

Saturday I went apple picking with Laura and Jack & Tanya and some other people someplace in the Blackstone Valley. The weather was absolutely perfect and there were tons of apples on almost every tree– I was surprised because back home in the boonies, apples aren’t ready until much later. Anyway, I came home with a giant bag of apples and what did I do with them? I made apple crisp which was kind of iffy. I’m not sure what happened, but it wasn’t good. It was kind of dry, in fact. However, I made up for it by making apple pie with bacon. IT IS FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!! I mean, bacon makes *everything* better, especially apple pie!

This is the recipe I used:

Bacon Apple Pie

Ingredients:

* Pastry for 9-inch pie, uncooked
* 6 cups apples, peeled and cut into thin slices (about 2 1/4 lbs or 8 medium apples)
* 3/4 lb uncooked bacon
* 3/4 cup sugar
* 2 Tbl flour
* 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
* 1/4 tsp nutmeg
* 1 Tbl milk
* 1 Tbl sugar

Directions:
Fry bacon in skillet until slightly floppy. Drain on paper towel. Chop bacon into 1/2″ pieces. Line bottom of pastry-lined pie plate with a layer of bacon, reserving the rest.

In a large bowl, mix together 3/4 cup sugar, flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add apple slices and remaining bacon pieces. Toss to coat.

Transfer bacon-apple mixture to pastry-lined pie plate. Place upper crust on pie plate (bonus points for a lattice, double bonus points if you can show me a bacon lattice!) and seal. Cut slits in the top if you are using double crust to allow to vent. Brush top with milk and sugar. Bake at 375 F for 1 hour or until bubbly.

Cool on a wire rack. Serve with smoked cheddar cheese slices.

Holy crap it rules. Now I just have 1/2 bag of apples to figure out what to do with… maybe applesauce.

In other news, before I gave up dating from the innernets forever, I managed to get a date with a Russian computer programmer. We’re going to see the new Tarantino movie tomorrow night. I actually pretty much hated every Tarantino movie I’ve seen, and I also swore off dating Slavs, but as you can see I’m lowering my standards. We’ll see how this goes.

Entry filed under: fun, un/spinsterhood.

ROCK ON!!! More fun

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


