Argh… more health care annoyance

September 30, 2009 at 2:29 pm Leave a comment

So, I finally got accepted to the Mass Health care program! Yay! However, it took me forever to figure out what I’m supposed to do next. The amount of red tape involved in all this is such that I could probably get 2 mortgages and adopt triplets from Mars with it. So, I finally figured out which health plan I want (after wrestling with websites that are broken, links that go nowhere, .pdfs that won’t open etc.) and chose a Primary Care Physician. Finally! I won’t actually have insurance until they send me a bill and I pay it (you can’t pay online), but that’s ok whatever. I called my PCP and… she’s not accepting anymore new patients of course (they said she was on the website, but as you can see from above, the website isn’t exactly reliable). All the other physicians in that clinic (3 blocks from my house) are either not accepting new patients until December or are only accepting them at other locations that are far away. I had forgotten how impossible it is to find a doctor in this state! You’d think with all the 80 zillion hospitals around, there’d be a doctor with space available for patients. I just want someone to look down my throat with a flashlight for 10 seconds and either prescribe me some antibiotics or tell me it’s a viral thing and I should just go home and eat chicken soup! I will pay the whatever exorbitant price it costs without insurance! I don’t care! Argh. I feel like crap and am not in the mood to be put on hold for 15 minutes again only to hear that the doctor is booked up for every place I call on the list like the last time I tried to find a PCP the last time I had to make insurance decisions.

AAAARRRRGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

There, that was somewhat theraputic.

Hey, at least methodone treatments are free under this insurance, so if finding a PCP drives me to heroin addiction, I’ll be all set!

Entry filed under: health.

yearly sin round-up! Stir Crazy in Quarantine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


