Sucka MCs be tryin to fade this shizzle, what.

October 17, 2009 at 10:54 pm 1 comment

OK, “Shizzle” was a little anachronistic in the above headline, but you hear what I’m sayin, dig? 80s hip hop slang, I realized, plays a big part in my vocabulary, and in the speech of many nerds I know. Why is this? We most certainly didn’t talk like that back in the day, no that would have been mad wiggety-wack. Why are we suddenly illin’? Allow me drop some science: I think it’s because we look back at the slang and said “whoa, people really called each other HOME SLICE?” and thus it becomes a part of our vocabulary for the retro-ironic value. Also, hip hop slang gets outdated really quickly, which makes it even more fly, because each word is a frozen little moment in time. So, currently the slang is enjoying a second life in nerdese.

I never really thought about how much I use the term “home piece” to address friends, and pretty much every other sentence I say contains “word” until I was texting Victor the other day. The conversation went something like this:

VICTOR: I’ll call you when I get back from my parents’ house
ME: word.
VICTOR: What word?
ME: Word to your mother! (and dad)
VICTOR: ?

It’s always interesting seeing language through the mind of a non-native speaker (OK, that’s a politically incorrect term, as is English as a Second Language, I don’t know what you are supposed to call people who learned English later in life as opposed to as babies).

Word to that.

An interesting factoid: apparently Vanilla Ice’s catch-phrase “word to your mother” started out life as “word to the mother” as in Motherland, as in Africa. Yup-yup!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

TGIF, Dude! Bad cat owner

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:11 am

    I do this. Mixed with mid-80s Valley Girl, Dude, like so totally nerdy. Word to your mother. Wiggity wiggity whack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


