2 Movie Day!

November 23, 2009 at 6:22 am Leave a comment

I was feeling kind of sad and lonely today. I don’t know why; I just get like this. Perhaps it has something to do with my so-called boyfriend and how I’ve seen him for a total of about 4 hours in the past 3 weeks. Funny, the last one did that too. I got to thinking– what is it about me that makes dudes want to completely ignore me all the time? I’m not that annoying, I don’t think. At least, *I* don’t find myself that annoying. I think I’m pretty awesome, to tell you the truth. Anyway, the few men on earth who don’t find me completely repulsive end up avoiding me for weeks on end. WTF?

So because of this I went to see a movie. I saw Where The Wild Things Are. Here’s a word of advice: if you’re feeling lonely and a little down, and feel like nobody listens to you and the world is a sucky place: DON’T SEE THIS MOVIE!! I don’t know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t this. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked it a lot. It was awesome. however, I found it to be a totally harrowing and painful nihilistic downer. It’s about Max, a lonely boy with a busy divorced mother who feels like nobody pays attention to him. He “acts out” and annoys his mother. He finds a boat and sails to Where The Wild Things Are. The Wild Things are a commune of giant neurotic child-like beasts who are in the midst of all sorts of interpersonal strife. They think Max can help them. In the end, he just ends up making everything worse. The End. The Wild Things were like watching a gigantic hairy family reunion complete with cranky old Jews (two of the Wild Things were a couple named Ira and Judith), gross failures in communication, tears, fighting and various shades of awkward silence. My family doesn’t actually ever have Wild Rumpuses, but perhaps I should introduce one!

When I got home, the last thing I wanted to do was work on my stupid vampire novel (yes, I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month), so I went and saw another movie: 2012. It was long, and had kind of boring stretches, but basically was the Disaster Movie To End All Disaster Movies. There was fire! There were volcanoes! There were earthquakes! There was stuff blowing up! There were airplanes in peril! There were tsunamis and flooding! The special effects were super awesome. The plot was thin and peppered with feel-good moments like any good disaster should have. Plus, in the end it turned out that after they saved all these rich people and heads of state, the only place on earth that wasn’t destroyed by the flood waters was Africa, so everyone could go happily live there. Awesome.

Entry filed under: movies, un/spinsterhood, whine.

rock! Caution: Whining Ahead

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


