New Pets!!

February 23, 2010 at 5:48 am Leave a comment

I have new mice! I got them on Wednesday. They are from a lab at MIT where Pete works– he knows the chick who breeds the lab mice and she likes to give extras away. So now I have two mice, born on January 23rd! Their names are Emeline and Vera and they are brown and adorable. They’re really tame, too!

vera & emeline
Douchebag loves them. He stares endlessly at the tank and occasionally gets overzealous and tries to catch them, which ends up in him smacking the tank and looking confused. It’s very cute.

Damn, it’s so weird that a week ago I was in Mexico. it seems like it was years ago! Did it really happen? Whoa. Anyway…

I actually got a lot done this past weekend. Of course, none of it was the useful kind of done, like depositing my paycheck, doing laundry, washing the dishes or any other kind of done where you can cross things off of a to-do list. What I did do was the fun kind of doing-stuff. I made a jungle gym for Vera and Emeline. The Mouse Chick said that mice like to climb on stuff, so I made them a couple of platforms with ladders and a rope bridge to another platform. I hope they enjoy it. I haven’t actually seen them use it yet, but they’re nocturnal so they could be frolicking all night long and I’d never see it!

I also bought some new wallpaper for the dollhouse and put up a room divider (and wallpapered it) so that there’s an extra bedroom and the bathroom isn’t so gigantic. A.C. Moore, the craft store where I got the wallpaper was having a sale on dollhouses so I bought a conservatory room (dollhouse add on) that was wicked cheap. I put it together, but since the instructions weren’t written by sentient beings and the design wasn’t made for a place with laws of physics that pertain to this dimension, it’s a little wonky. It looks OK though. I think I can finagle it to work right! I also made a chandelier for the dollhouse– this picture doesn’t do it justice. It highlights all the wrong things! It looks much classier and less like a pile of clear plastic in real life! I will take better pictures of it.
dollhouse chandelier (crappy pic)

I also made a bunch of curling stones and brooms, but the setting isn’t very good– I have to build a better rink and light it so I can take decent pictures of it!

curling dollhouse figures
(sweepers are Andy Kaufman and Oz from Buffy, a Dalek is the skip and the thrower was Pippin from LotR, but he didn’t fit in the picture– other team’s skip is Shaft, + Gwen from Torchwood, Spike from Buffy & Hugh Borg).

As you can see, I’m having WAY TOO MUCH FUN with all this! I’m also running out of space in my teeny little apartment! I bought a new dollhouse kit (AC Moore– it was on sale for $50, marked down from $250– my tax refund!) I’m working on a heliport for my one house and still have to get the satanic altar up and running in the other. Is there a job where I can just set up and make stuff for dollhouses all day? That’s my dream job! Why don’t any of my dream jobs exist (name expert, experimental bacon chef, action figure setter upper)?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back to the cold north… hasta la vista, Carlos!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


