hasta la vista, Carlos!

March 8, 2010 at 7:55 pm Leave a comment

I finally decided the time has come to say goodbye to Carlos, my little 1991 Civic. It seems decadent and lame to ditch a car because you are sick of it, but I made a list of things that are annoying about it and I think it’s OK in this circumstance. I’m possibly going to sell it to Pete for $200, Which is awesome because I’ll be able to get rid of it, won’t have to haggle with strangers, AND did I mention get rid of it? Faster even than if I had to talk to people on Craig’s List (assuming someone would even want it) and bargain and stuff.

The problem is, everything that makes the car go or stop works fine. It’s just everything else that sucks. Here are some of the highlights:

http://listography.com/scootronimus/products/stuff_that_bugs_me_about_my_car

With that I bought a new car yesterday! Or rather, i put a deposit on a car and I will pick it up on Wednesday. It’s a 1999 Volkswagen Golf. It’s EXACTLY the kind of car I wanted! It’s a small fuel-efficient hatchback with a manual transmission and no power windows! The guy who is selling it works at a Volkswagen dealership and has fixed everything that normally goes wrong with Golfs (Golves?). It’s shiny and new, and everything under the hood is shiny and new. It’s incredible! I am totally psyched. Murphy’s Law says that “if it sounds too good to be true, it most likely is” I know, and I didn’t get a second opinion and none of my rental penises were available to talk about manly stuff with the owner. The dude had other people interested, so I put a deposit down then. I drive a car so little that if there’s something major wrong with it, I probably won’t notice or find out for a while anyway. When I drove the car, it handled beautifully, sounded perfect and there were no problems there. Did I mention I’m psyched?

I’m really glad I didn’t have to shop around more. I really hate shopping for cars. Yay!

I’ve owned 4 cars in my life and every time I have to say good bye to one I feel slightly nostalgic and a little sad. Of course, every other car I’ve had has just died or been wrecked unexpectedly. Now, however, I am not the least bit sad to see Carlos go; it’s such a pain in my butt it will be a great weight off my shoulders!

Entry filed under: yay!.

New Pets!! the Oscars – WTF?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


