Alas, poor grocery store

August 21, 2010 at 10:58 am Leave a comment

I’m not one to wax poetic about Days of Yore. My grandmother could spend hours lamenting the deaths of stores she used to shop in and could pinpoint everything she ever bought at one of them. I, however, do not hold monuments to consumerism on this level of reverence. I really could care less, especially in the world of chain stores, who buys out who, why and where.

But, it did give me a tiny twinge of sadness in my Central New York bred heart when I read that the P&C grocery stores went bankrupt and have been bought out by Tops, a chain from Buffalo. The P&C was all over Central NY and wherever I lived, there was always one in the town. It makes me sad to lose out on this bit of “history” (ok, they’ve only been around since the 1940s) for this one important reason: Now, generations of school children will never know the answer to the Eternal Question…

Where was the glass toilet invented?

Entry filed under: nostalgia n crap.

Being Old Is Awesome Sometimes My Body is a Jerk

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


