I am Old and Lame, Part II

March 22, 2011 at 1:52 am 1 comment

I got the results from last week’s physical back today. I apparently have high cholesterol and an underactive thyroid. Thus, my doctor wants me to lose 15 lbs in the next 6 months and cut down on animal products, fried things, and general bad food. All I can picture is deep fried cheese wrapped in bacon. I’ve actually lost 5 lbs in the past few weeks on the Stop Being Stupid (i.e., stop eating chocolate cake for breakfast) diet. However, that was on a whim, it didn’t have a goal in mind. Now that I have a goal, it sucks. For some reason, goals do the opposite of motivate me. Lots of people are goal-oriented, and they can’t achieve anything unless they have clear-cut goals. I, however, am so lame and process-oriented that as soon as a goal is introduced, I freak out from the pressure and try to find ways to get out of trying. I suppose because of Doctor’s Orders, I’ll have to get with it, though. Argh. No bacon? Really?

Entry filed under: health, whine.

I am old and lame. Q: What time is it? Tell me what’s the time!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jaymin Carthage  |  March 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Focus on what you are good at. There are two halves to what the doctor said: “cut down” and “lose 15 pounds”. Losing a set amount is a goal, but cutting down is a process. Work on how to change your process; no cake for breakfast, get off a stop early on the T and walk, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


