I just want to use your love… tonight.

February 16, 2013 at 8:06 pm 2 comments

I went bowling last night with some co-workers of Doug’s– the dude turned 23. (yes, I felt old). The bowling place was playing The Outfield’s “Your Love” and the birthday boy’s girlfriend’s best friend’s roommate squealed and said “I love this one! It’s from 1985!” and proceeded to sing the entire thing from start to end.

I was obsessed with this song Back In The Day when I was 12. I loved the lead singer’s chipmunky face and earrings and mullet. I loved everything about them. However, they were kind of a one-hit-wonder, and this song was only popular for a couple of weeks, and not very popular at that.

I’ve listened to this song zillions of times (I own the 45!) No really, I do. Here it is:

Bought with my hard-earned allowance when I was 12.

I have no idea what the lyrics are. I watched the video I posted above and I still can’t make out the lyrics. Anyway, how does this girl, who obviously was born post-1985, know this song? Was it in a movie recently? Knowing songs from before your generation isn’t unheard of, I mean I know “The Locomotion” better than my parents probably, due to it being constantly everywhere. Ditto for “Stairway to Heaven” and anything by the Beatles. I could sing you Simon and Garfunkel’s entire catalog and ditto the Andrews Sisters, and that’s my grandparents’ generation. “Your Love”, however, is kind of obscure. It’s not obscure in that “I know this garage band from the 60s that only people in Topeka remember” way, more in that “one near-hit-wonder” way.

My mind was boggled. I love seeing what 80s music is popular these days. They played The Powerstation’s “Some Like It Hot” in the grocery store the other day, which is hilarious because nobody would have ever played it in a public place frequented by people over the age of 19 back in the day. However, now that I’m an Old Person, all the music is retro and therefore, safe. I LOVE BEING OLD!!!

Entry filed under: fun, music.

Hey look, I made a thing! Cheeses of Nazareth

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krust Krustofferson  |  February 17, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Really? I thought it was normal to know some songs from before you were born. Everybody at IHS was into The Doors and Led Zeppelin. What’s weird is that I talked to a 20-something yesterday who’d never heard “Love Will Tear Us Apart Again.”

    Reply
    • 2. scootronimus  |  February 18, 2013 at 5:54 pm

      I think it was normal for our generation, because the media was owned by baby boomers who thought nothing was as good as it was in the 60s. However, I don’t see gen Xers putting 80s music in every movie, unless it’s to make fun of it or something. I was just amazed because “Your Love” was kind of an obscure song. I feel like an old fart when I say, though, Kids These Days don’t know Joy Division? The world is going to hell in a hand basket I tell ya!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Most Recent Posts


