And the Nominations are In… #1

June 1, 2013 at 12:04 am Leave a comment

By me, of course. In a fit of nostalgia, i’m going to nominate the Videos That Sum up the 80s the Best. By “the best” I mean “in the most hilarious ways possible.”

Journey, “Separate Ways”
here are some highlights:
nobody ever actually looks at the chick who’s meaningfully stomping around the warehouse.

Did I mention the entire thing takes place on the ground of a warehouse?

0:01 AWWW YEAH ROCKING THE AIR SYNTH!

0:53 I can’t tell if the air-drummer is actually sitting on a real stool or on an air stool. Either way it’s impressive.

0:56 more air synthing– the guy looks like he’s at an air scratching post.

1:31 The drummer is wearing a ripped-off collar sweatshirt advertising a foosball tournament.

1:44 the awesome grimace on the keyboard guy’s face

1:55 you finally see the chick who’s stomping around’s face. WOW HER AMAZING SQUARE PUFFY MULLET HAIR!

2:18 Whoa, extreme close-up of Steve Perry’s teeth!

2:22 Steve saunters backwards through a maze of pallets, but not without a quick look behind him to make sure he doesn’t smack into machinery.

2:31 two guys are facing each other singing with the chick in the middle. They are not looking at her.

2:45 synchronized head turn!

3:12 Bass dude’s got a Steinberger! SO JEALOUS!!! He shows off some sweet moves

3:51 keyboard guy has his keyboard mounted sideways on a wall again. The 80s were a tough time– it’s hard to look cool while playing a synthesizer. One had to break new ground!

the end: was it all a dream?!?!?!

I LOVE this song. Seriously. I love Journey, and I don’t care who knows. I realize I lose like 85% of whatever small shreds of indie street cred I ever had by admitting this, but I do! I also realize that I get most of my dance moves from Steve Perry. I just realized this this moment. I can’t dance for shit, and I mostly flail my arms and occasionally make fists. This video must have imprinted on my subconscious somehow.

Entry filed under: music, nostalgia n crap.

The nice thing about Republicans I’m in Love With The Modern World

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


