Headache Cat

July 10, 2013 at 12:23 am Leave a comment

Headache Cat

Headache Cat is awesome

I can’t remember how I acquired Headache Cat, but she’s been sitting on my computer monitor for several years now. Whenever I get a headache, or suffer from eye strain, I pop her in the microwave and sit back and relax while the healing power of a concerned looking stuffed feline washes over me. My actual cats would probably love nothing more than to drape themselves across my face in a similar manner, but they’d probably protest if I tried to put them in the microwave.

It seems weird– Headache Cat was made by people in remote Nepalese mountain villages and sold at 10,000 Villages for probably a ginormous markup. Who came up with this idea? Was someone like hey, remote villagers in a third world country– you know what some rich North Americans would like? Something to help reduce their eye strain! Make it cute looking (Headache Cat is adorable)! Fill it with edible grains that nobody will eat that will retain warmth. The North Americans will put it in a microwave. What’s a microwave you ask? It’s kind of like a box that heats stuff up when you push a button.

I’m reading about the Nepalese workshops now. Many are staffed by people who have leprosy or had polio or have other disabilities/disadvantages. Great, lepers are making headache pillows for over-privileged North Americans… Hey leper lady, I’m using this pillow you made because I had a rough day staring at a computer all day!

I mean, it’s awesome that programs exist to help people whose lives would probably suck a whole lot more without them. I love my Headache Cat because it works well (although because nobody has cleaned out the microwave in like months my face now smells like rancid Chinese food. Ah me and my First World Problems)! It should be a win-win situation, right? It still feels weird.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Argh Health Care Again Big Country!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


